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Low Risk Probation Information Packet for Polk County

** It is imperative that you keep your sentencing order and this information**

This packet is designed to answer some of the frequently asked questions about the Low Risk Unit. For
more information please refer to our website: http://FifthDCS.com/OffenderResources.cfm

What is the LowRisk Unit?

You have been given an excellent opportunity by the 5th Judicial District to successfully complete your
probation while on the low risk banked caseload. Unlike traditional probation, you will only have to
report to the probation office every 6 months in person or via the phone or email. You will be

responsible to complete all of your court ordered obligations and monies owed to the court and the
5th Judicial District within the length of supervision ordered by the court. Misdemeanor cases with one
year probation can be reviewed for discharge in 6 months. Felony cases will be reviewed case by case
and may be eligible for discharge after half of the probation period is complete. You must have all of
the court ordered obligations complete, including all money to the court and supervision fee paid in
full in order to discharge early. You are responsible to forward all of your evaluations, certificates of
completion and community service hours to 1000 Washington in person, via US mail or email.

How do | contact my Probation Officer?

Email is the preferred method of contacting us (include your full name and ICON number). If
necessary, you may stop in the office at 1000 Washington Avenue, which is next to the John Grubb
YMCA, the full address is below.

Fifth Judicial District * Probation Officer to be assigned once Intake Paperwork
Department of Correctional Services is filled out at the Court House.

1000 Washington Ave

Des Moines, IA 50314

Map: Click Here for Google Map

What about my court-ordered conditions?

You are required to submit verification of completion of any court ordered conditions. For example, if
you are ordered to obtain a substance abuse evaluation and comply with treatment, you must follow
through for successful completion. You need to request, from your treatment provider, that a
discharge summary be sent to your probation officer when you have completed treatment. Be sure to
sign a Release of Information with your treatment provider. If you are required to do a class, you may



request that verification of the class be sent to your Probation Officer. It is, however, your
responsibility to make sure that your probation officer receives verification. You may also deliver these
via mail, scan and email them, or fax them to the resources listed above. All classes and community
service hours ordered are to be done within a time frame, so check your sentencing order to make
sure you do not violate this condition of probation and to ensure this allows you enough time to get
the class or community service hours done in order to be successful while on probation.

= QOWI 1st program class packets and OWI 2nd program class packets can be picked up in Room B-40
at the Polk County Courthouse (DMACC, Assessment Services)

=  Community Service Hour Packets: These can be picked up in Room B-40 at the Polk County
Courthouse or from your probation officer.

= Assaultive Behavior Class: First Time Offender class; License Under Suspension; and Repeat
Offender class; SAVE class: Call DMACC at (515) 256-4911 to schedule. These classes must be
completed within 90 days of sentencing.

= Adult Life Skills Class: Call (515) 471-2387 (8:00 AM to 5:00 PM Monday - Friday)

How do | pay my supervision fee?

Everyone who is sentenced to probation is required to pay a supervision fee of $300. You can make
payments at the front window in Room B-40 at the Polk County Courthouse or at the main probation
office at 910 - 1000 Washington Avenue, Des Moines (the Washington Avenue office has free
parking). We also offer the ability to pay online at our website, http://FifthDCS.com. On that site you
will find a Make a Payment button with the MunicPAY logo on it. You will need to know your ICON
number to make an online payment. Go to http://fifthdcs.com/PaymentMorelnfo.cfm for more
information on paying online. You may also send in payments. Checks, money orders, or credit cards
are preferred, but cash is accepted. DO NOT send cash in the mail. Make the check or money
order payable to: Fifth Judicial District. This fee is due within 120 days of sentencing.
CHECKS/MONEY ORDERS ARE MAILED TO:

Probation Intake Office

Polk County Courthouse, Room B40
500 Mulberry St

Des Moines, IA 50309

If you do not pay your probation fee at your initial intake, you must call Kelly Overton at (515) 242-
6621 within 3 working days to set up a payment plan.

How do | pay my fines, court costs, surcharges, victim restitution, civil penalty, etc.?

You must send payments to the Polk County Clerk of Court 500 Mulberry St, Rm. 103, Des Moines, IA
50309. Put your case number, , on your payment. You may also make payments
online at lowaCourtsOnline.org or via phone at (515) 286-3765. If you move while on probation, this is

also the number you call.



After 30 days of sentencing, you may set up a payment plan for your Court costs, fines, civil penalty,
and/or restitution by calling the lowa Department of Revenue at (515) 281-6944 or by reporting IN
PERSON to the Polk County Attorney at:

Polk County Justice Center
222 5th Avenue
Des Moines, IA 50309

= Monday, Wednesday, and Friday 8:00 AM — 11:00 AM and 1:00 pm - 3:30 PM
* Tuesday and Thursday 8:00 AM —11:00 AM

You MUST bring the following with you:
= $100 MONEY ORDER payable to: Clerk of Court
» Proof of income (paycheck stubs, SSI benefits, Unemployment benefits, etc.)

HOW TO APPLY FOR THE POLK COUNTY ATTORNEY
LICENSE REINSTATEMENT PROGRAM

https://apps.PolkCountylowa.gov/LRP

The Polk County Attorney’s Office is no longer accepting paper License Reinstatement Program
Applications. All applications must be completed online. You can access the application by using a
computer or mobile device connected to the Internet. See instructions below.

1. Go to the Polk County Attorney web site using the address above or using a web browser search
for “Polk County Attorney lowa.” Find the home page and in the lower right corner under
Restorative Justice Center select the link License Reinstatement Program.

2. Read the eligibility requirements carefully.

w

If you think you may be eligible for the License Reinstatement Program (LRP) select the Next
button at the bottom of the screen to go to the Financial Affidavit screen.

Complete the LRP Financial Affidavit. Many of the fields are required.
Complete the reCAPTCHA security check and select the certification box.
Submit the Application.

N o u &

You will receive a reply from our office within three weeks and will be notified by either U.S. mail
or email at the address you provided on your application.

Color Code?

If you are ordered to participate in the color code program, follow all program instructions and
requirements given to you. If you fail to attend a UA, provide a diluted UA, or test positive, you must
immediately report to your PO. If PO is not available, contact PO within 24 hours of the UA test. Always
be prepared to make yourself available for testing and/or office visit.



Can | travel?

General rule: Any travel over two weeks you must notify your Officer for a travel permit. Travel outside
the United States requires a travel permit signed by a Judge. Unless travel is employment-related you
must have your supervision fee and Court costs, fines, etc. paid in full before you can get a travel
permit. Contact your Probation Officer at least 10-30 days before you are traveling, email is best. A
travel permit requires the destination name, address, phone number, who you are going with, when
you are leaving and returning, the purpose of the travel, vehicle information (year, make, model,
color, license plate number) or flight information.

How can | discharge early?

You must complete at least half of your probation time that you were sentenced to in order to be
eligible to discharge early, all court-ordered requirements must be completed, and ALL financial
obligations must be paid in full. Exceptions to this may include assaultive offenses or if your court
order says differently. However, if your court order specifies no early discharge, that will be followed.

What if | am arrested on a new charge or have contact with Law Enforcement?

You must contact your probation officer within 48 hours of arrest. These will be handled case by case.

What if | don't complete my court-ordered requirements within my probation term?

If you fail to complete any, or all, of your Court-ordered requirements, a Report of Violations will be
filed and a Court date set.

How does a Report of Violations work?

Your Probation Officer will research and write a Report of Violation and send it to the Court requesting
either a hearing or a warrant. Warrants will be issued if your whereabouts are unknown. A Probation
Hearing will be set and you will receive notice in the mail. You must attend this hearing. It will be up to
the Judge to determine whether violations exist and determine appropriate sanctions. It is imperative
that you notify your officer AND the Clerk of Court to any change in your address. If the Court and your
officer cannot get you this information due to failure to report a change in address an arrest warrant
will have to be issued.



